On Fri, 09 May 2008 20:27:00 -0500, msb@[EMAIL PROTECTED]
(Mark Brader) wrote:
>Bob Ward writes:
>> Has anyone else been getting lots of people "from stickam" wanting you
>> to be their special friend? I assume that someone has created some
>> sort of an exploit that will infect your system if you click on the
>> link, but they are all using the same template, so the element of
>> surprise is gone.
>
>For me, on May 1 there was a significant increase in the amount of spam
>that got past Vex's greylisting and my bogofiltering. Of the ones that
>I glance at enough to see what they're about, the most common types are
>(1) messages with vaguely worded allusions [this omitting the most
>filterable keywords] to ***ual enhancements, and (2) advertising for...
>um... non-genuine brand-name timepieces.
>
>About 20% of the messages that are reaching me -- all of these of the
>latter type -- are allegedly from the same user who is also on vex.net.
>(I should add a procmail rule to kill those sometime.)
>
>So presumably some of the spamming software is using a fixed list of
>destination addresses and email sent to victim N has victim N-1's
>address as the forged sender. What Bob is talking about could be the
>same sort of thing.
No, what Bob is talking about is getting the same piece of spam from
dozens of people who claim to have met me on Stickam and want to be my
special friend, with a link to contact them on Stickam.


|